Simon and the Easter Miracle by Mary Joslin
Illustrated by Anna Luraschi

Pages: 32
Size: 8.5 x 10.25 inches
Ages: 5 to 7
Published: 2012
Rights: NAR Imprint: Lion Children’s

ABOUT THIS BOOK

The gospels tell of Simon of Cyrene–“a man coming in from the country”–who was ordered to carry Jesus’ cross. Over the centuries, his story has been woven into a Polish folktale. In the tradition of The Three Treesthis folk tale gives a fresh perspective on the Easter story.

When Simon the farmer brings his wares to market, little does he expect how he will be involved in the events of that very special day, nor how his items–bread, eggs, and wine–will become important symbols of Jesus’ passion and resurrection, remembered throughout the ages.

This picture book retelling of a traditional tale is both thought-provoking and engaging.

MY THOUGHTS ON THIS BOOK

I have to say I was very disappointed in the text of this book. While it talks about a cross, Simon caring the cross, a man is to die because of “Preaching a message of peace”, it failed in telling the Easter Story as it really is. And it never mentions Jesus, and isn’t He the One we want to teach our children about? It talks about Simon returning home and hearing wings of dove, and it pretty much says that everything turns out perfect.

 

I just feel that children need to know the details of the Easter Story. Why Jesus came and why the crowds were angry at Him, and why He really died on that cross. I’m sorry I just can’t give this story more than a 2 rating.

 

However, the one really nice thing about the book is the illustrations. Anna Luraschi’s illustrations are pretty and colorful. The pictures go well with the story. The cover and the inside is very eye-catching.

 

I wish I could recommend this book to you for your child, but I really can’t. I feel there are many other books about Easter that gives the story in a more detailed and correct way.

 

This book was provided by Kregel Publishers for me to read and review. I was not expected or required to write a positive review. The opinions in this review are mine alone.